My First Home

Mother and Daddy lived at 2112 N Shartel when I was born. I was born at Wesley Hospital and Mother’s doctor was Dr. Harris. [Although Wayne was in the Air Force when I became pregnant, no obstetricians were available, so I was free to go  to the City to see Dr. Harris to confirm the pregnancy I was confident of and start me on prenatal care.] Mother loved Dr. Harris and he served as my pediatrician as well as mother’s physician for years. [She went to him when she was pregnant with Mickey, although she also had a physician in Gainesville where we lived in 1946.]

Delivered by ambulance - common for the time period

Delivered by ambulance – common for the time period

It was apparently typical to deliver the mother and baby home in an ambulance and the photo above is an advertising photo of the company that brought mother and me home from the hospital. Mother’s recollections of the house on Shartel are as follows: “The Peters owned this little house; it sat on the alley of Shartel and the street car ran right in front of our house. That was a little house and the Peters lived in front of us and then there was a garage and then this little house on the alley. It had 3 rooms. Bedroom, kitchen and a little bitty living room about like that you see . As a matter of fact the floor plan was about the same as this.” (describing her senior citizen apartment off SW 74th & May). Mother told me her brother, Johnnie, and his wife had lived there previously.

Fall 1940 looking north towards the Peters' house.

Fall 1940 looking north towards the Peters’ house.

In September 2011, I was looking on Google maps street view for the 2112 Shartel addresss and observed something that reminded me of the above photo taken of me outdoors in a high chair. I’d never known where that photo was taken and the relative similarity made me want to see the actual Shartel location rather that the street view online. I suppose it’s surprising that although I’d always known the address where mom and dad lived when I was born and had driven up and down Shartel any number of times, I’d never thought to look at the area and/or house we’d lived in when I was born. I called Kay and asked her if she’d like to drive over with me; she agreed and within a few minutes we were on our way across town.

My interpretation from Google maps street view was correct and the little house is still there. Kay and I both took photographs of the house and area and a 2011 photo of the home is below.

My highchair was situated at the top of the rise just past the left corner of the front of the house.

My highchair was situated at the top of the rise just past the left corner of the front of the house.

Leave a Reply

