Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – Genealogy Database Statistics

Randy Seaver’s Saturday Night Genealogy Fun for this week is genealogy database statistics. My genealogy database management program is Legacy. Until 2008, I was just a research helper to my daughter so didn’t have our genealogy information other than an occasional hard copy Kay printed of direct line people. We were on a research trip and I asked her if it were possible for me to have a copy of the database to be able to look things up without having to wait for her to get home from work. Our hotel room had WIFI access so we searched for free genealogy database programs and chose Legacy. I installed the program while Kay converted her family file to a GEDCOM and saved it to a USB drive. We then loaded the GEDCOM into my new program and I had my own copy.

Since I was not our major family researcher and our programs weren’t synced I didn’t do anything but access the program for a year or so, but finally I began putting up an Ancestry.com free tree. After a while, I would occasionally access Ancestry on Kay’s account where I discovered I could attach records in support of what we were learning about our family members. Soon, I was having so my fun, I got my own Ancestry account and started into full research mode.

Currently, the statistics for our Ancestry.com tree are as follows:

Ancestry Stats

Through connecting with other researchers in one of my family lines, I received another GEDCOM for the people on my paternal grandmother’s mother’s family line. This GEDCOM was a compilation of the work of a group of Sanford families in Tuscaloosa, Alabama where my family was from; at the time I got it was quite large. I made a separate merged file of both databases and the resulting statistics for the Legacy database are as follows:

Legacy Stats

One of the things I’ve learned by keeping a database and searching for the documentation that is the framework of what we are learning is that genealogy isn’t just a matter of putting names and dates on a tree, but it is learning something about the people who made up the heritage that led me to be who I am and where I am.

Leave a Reply

